Andrea Wulf Lecture and Coffee

"The Invention of Nature"

Thursday, October 12, 2017

9:30 am

Country Club of Little Rock



Andrea Wulf






Andrea's books will be available for purchase and she will sign them for you!

 Andrea Wulf is the author of “The Brother Gardeners” and the co-author of “This Other Eden”. Her book “Founding Gardeners” was published to great acclaim in spring 2011. Her "Chasing Venus" was published in 2012 in eight countries in conjunction with the last transit of Venus in our century. And her latest book 'The Invention of Nature" has received rave reviews and awards - and is a New York Times bestseller. She has written for New York Times, the Atlantic, the LA Times, Wall Street Journal, the Sunday Times and the Guardian and many others.

She has lectured across the world – from the Royal Geographical Society and Royal Society in London to Monticello and the New York Public Library in the US. She’s spoken to audiences in Sweden, Germany, Spain and the Netherlands as well as to 15,000 people at the Esri User Conference in San Diego and literary festivals in the UK. She is a three-time fellow of the International Center for Jefferson Studies at Monticello and the Eccles British Library Writer in Residence 2013. She's a member of PEN American Center, an International Fellow of the Explorer's Club, a member of The Society of Woman Geographers, a Fellow of the Linnean Society and a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society.

The “Brother Gardeners” was long-listed for the Samuel Johnson Prize 2008, the most prestigious non-fiction award in the UK and won the American Horticultural Society 2010 Book Award. “Founding Gardeners” and 'The Invention of Nature" were both on the New York Times Best Seller List.

'The Invention of Nature" won the Royal Society Science Book Award 2016, Costa Biography Award 2015, the Inaugural James Wright Award for Nature Writing 2016 (Kenyon Review in association with the Nature Conservancy), Notable Book of Sigurd F. Olson Nature Writing Award (SONWA), the LA Times Book Prize 2016 and the Ness Award 2016 from the Royal Geographical Society. It was a finalist of the Kirkus Book Prize 2015 and was shortlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction & Nonfiction 2016 and the Cundill Prize for Historical Literature 2016. It won the Bayerische Buchpreis 2016 (Germany).